**Title of Activity / Programme**: Daring Debate

**Rationale or Purpose of the Activity / Programme:** This programme was conducted by Goa University as a part of Difficult Dialogue . Department of Women's Studies had to organize this activity .

**Date of Implementation**: 11<sup>th</sup> January 2018

Place: Conference Hall, Administrative Building, Goa University

Principal Organizer as well as Partners or Collaborators in organizing the activity: Dr. Mamta Kumari and Sulochana Pednekar from Department of Women's Studies . Prof. Sudarsan , H.O.D. Department of Economics

Funded by: Sangamitra Project, Department of Women's Studies.

## **Brief Report:** Daring Debate

Goa edition of Daring Debates in partnership with Goa University was conducted by Department of Women's Studies, Goa University on 11<sup>th</sup> January 2018. Goa edition of Daring Debates was on the topic – Is Empowering Women a Dilemma for Men? It was conducted as a part of Difficult Dialogue 2018. The winners from this competition would take part in the Final Debate on 10<sup>th</sup> February 2018 during the Difficult Dialogue 2018 schedule from 9<sup>th</sup> Feb to 11<sup>th</sup> Feb'2018.

Total 18 colleges participated in the event. Each college sent two Participants to take part in the event. Dr. Mamta Kumari welcomed the participants and introduced the programme.

Sulochana Pednekar introduced the Jury members and explained the rules of the competition to all the participants.

There were 3 judges who were requested to be the Jury Members.

Retired Associate Prof. Anita Haladi, Tania Devaiah – Activist and Freelancer and Peter Borges Founder of NGO - Human Touch.

The participants spoke for and against the motion. The programme concluded with the Prize Distribution Ceremony .

There were 3 winners in each category i.e in FOR and AGAINST. The Trophies were funded by Sangamitra Project.

Following were the winners in For Category:

- 1. Victoria Lobo St. Xavier's College, Mapusa
- 2. Kenneth Alvares Don Bosco College, Panaji

3. Prajwal Hegde – Dempo College of Commerce and Economics , Bambolim

Following were the winners in Against Category:

- 1. Jagmeet Kour Ponda Education Society, Ponda
- 2. Rameshwar Singh Rathore St. Xavier's College, Mapusa
- 3. Meghna Nayak Gomantak Ayurvedic Mahavidyalaya and Research Centre, Shiroda.

Prizes were distributed by Prof. P.K. Sudarsan, Head of Department of Economics and Dr. Shaila Desouza, Head of Department of women's Studies, Goa University.

Vote of thanks were given by Kajal Rivankar.